Blackhawk Wins “Best of the Best” Honor for Third Consecutive Year

August 24, 2023


Photo (left to right): Liz Paulsen, Executive Director of Marketing and Communications, Colleen Koerth, Manager of Workforce and Community Development, Elisa Colson, Student Recruitment Specialist, Dr. Karen Schmitt, Vice President of Academic Affairs, Lisa Hurda, Director of Advancement and Foundation, Marissa Greuel Hainstock, Transfer Coordinator, Molly Markley, Community and Continuing Education Coordinator, Rebecca Barnett, Student, Brad Smith, Director of Campus Safety, and Dr. Tracy Pierner, President of Blackhawk.

Blackhawk Technical College received the 2023 Best of the Best Local College award on Wednesday at Janesville Gazette’s 3rd Annual Community Choice Awards dinner. This is the third year in a row that the college has received this honor.

Blackhawk was a finalist for the Local College category along with Beloit College and UW-Whitewater at Rock County.

“This award represents the ongoing dedication by Blackhawk staff and faculty,” said Dr. Tracy Pierner, President of Blackhawk. “We are honored to serve our community, and we extend our sincere thanks to the voters and the Gazette for this honor.”

More than 120,000 votes were cast by more than 7,000 people throughout the community for these awards, which celebrate and recognize the best the community has to offer in 188 categories, including education.

The winners were announced during a dinner held at the Holiday Inn in Janesville with Miss Wisconsin, Lila Szyryj, serving as the emcee.

Previous Article Get to Know Blackhawk’s Dr. Tracy Pierner, President of the College
Next Article University Partnerships Expand Blackhawk’s Offerings to Include Bachelor’s Degrees
© 2024, Blackhawk Technical College. All rights reserved.